Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta: Afternoon Delights (Part III)

Now, since I do the 11:00am yoga class which is 1 hour and 15 minutes long, as opposed to all other classes which generally run from 45-50 minutes in time, I generally get to lunch later than most people there. But have no fear there is still plenty of time to sample all of the delicious goodies that are available for that day.

12:15pm – LUNCH TIME! My personal favorite time of the day – lunch is also served buffet style and has endless options each one more delicious than the one the day before!! Also, by this time of the day the sun is out and fully shining, so lunch can be enjoyed anywhere outside of the Dining Hall. A typical lunch at the Ranch generally will include a specialty soup and salad combination followed by a featured hot item of the day – my two favorites from this past week were fish taco day and pizza day. But trust me this is nothing like the pizza you are used to having delivered to your door from any of the nearby pizza joints in your town. In fact, it is anything but that!

Dining Hall - where meal time magic happens!

One of the many outside seating areas around the Dining Hall.

1:00pm – Generally at this time The Ranch offers a lecture from one of their featured guest speakers for that week, and all topics are focused around health, fitness, nutrition, and general well being of mind, body, and soul.

2:oopm – The afternoons at The Ranch are usually much more relaxed, and while work-out classes are still offered the classes tend to be much more fun with options ranging from water aerobics to African dance. Classes continue to be held every hour, on the hour, until 4:00pm, but generally I don’t do any after the 3:00pm time slot. So, after lunch my favorite classes are the ones held at the Activity Pool. These include anything from pool pilates to hydro-fit deep water training to la swimming. Now, unless there is a killer class at 3:00pm that I just HAVE TO attend, I will generally call it a day after the pool class, and spend the rest of the day relaxing.

Pool time!

3:00pm – Relaxation time!! So, since I generally don’t do classes at this time, I normally like to either stay out by the pool and get a little tanning time in with a great book in hand, or I head over the one of the two health spa centers at The Ranch. Both facilities are gorgeous and offer a wide range of spa services, including a variety of messages, facials, and exfoliating treatments for someone to chose from. This time around I went with the following spa treatments: Relaxation Massage, Deep Tissue Massage, Custom Facial (this is great because they literally do custom moisturizers, masks, toners, etc. all for your unique skin type), and I ended my stay there with a full body exfoliating treatment. Now, even if you don’t have any appointments booked for a particular day I still LOVE going to the spas, and normally I go back and forth between the steam room and sauna for about 45 minutes total, maybe do a little hot tub action, and by this point its close to 5-5:30pm, and time to start getting ready for dinner. However, since I’ve just spent the better part of the afternoon relaxing in the spa I personally don’t like to trek all the way back to my room to get ready, so I take a locker at the spa (equipped with robe and slippers) and do all my showering there.

The Women's Health Spa (my personal favorite).

Reflexology Path outside the spa.

Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta (Part I)

Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta: Typical Morning (Part II)

Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta: Dinnertime and Evening Activities (Part IV)

3 thoughts on “Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta: Afternoon Delights (Part III)

  1. Pingback: Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta (Part I) | Savvy Social Fashionista

  2. Pingback: Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta: Typical Morning (Part II) | Savvy Social Fashionista

  3. Pingback: Health and Fitness Retreat at Rancho La Puerta: Dinnertime and Evening Activities (Part IV) | Savvy Social Fashionista

Leave a Reply

